Mama’s fabulous knits. #1

Hello, lovely people of the Internet!

It’s been all about the knitting for the last 1-2 months. I have my own project that still needs to be finished (it’s related with clothing and my graduation event. Sshhh!), my Mum and have have another project together. Urgh, It’s hectic. I don’t have “normal” weekends anymore because it seems like I’ve been glued with my crochet hook (no surprise it’s already bent..). So, because I’ve been living in this kind of atmosphere for a while, I decided to post something related with that 🙂

My Mama is a self-taught knitter. She started at a young  age and improved/grew a lot since then. At the very beginning she was just playing around with doilies, basic sweaters for herself and cute little clothes for me and my brother. When she noticed that there were lots of people who wanted to buy something handmade, personalized, unique, Mum decided to sell her little knits. It’s wasn’t anything crazy at first though. She was focusing only on clothing for kids and accessories because, as she said, it was easier and not as demanding. She’s been in her “bubble”/comfort zone for couple years when she decided to experiment and create something “big”. It was a mohair dress that she was making for like… 4 moths. Mama (as well as I)  was really proud of herself and because of that, she wanted to knit another dress (it’s like an upgraded, more professional version of the first one). Surprisingly, It only took her ~3 weeks to finish it. The dress was beyond everything.

It’s crazy how Mama improved: from doilies, baby hats to fabulous dresses for women. And there’s no end for that. She already has dozens of ideas in her head, and the current project we’re working on… Can’t wait to see!

So I wanted to pair this  dress with something edgy (brownish lips, choker, winter boots) to point out the girliness, lightness and delicacy of the dress. I think I succeeded.. ^^

By the way, it was only+3 °C during the potoshoot. Yikes! but it wasn’t as bad as I expected thought. Thanks to the mohair!

I hope you enjoyed:) Show some love for us, knitters (especially my Mum)

Be different. Be weird.

Akvilė ^^

If you have any tips, questions, comments feel free to tweet me @AkvileeB, kik me @Akvilee359, snapchat me @aakvile.

6 thoughts on “Mama’s fabulous knits. #1

Leave a comment