DENIM NOTEBOOK || DIY #2

Hey, you!

Back to school season.  When does it officially start? Not sure.. When does it finish? Not sure either hahah But whatever, this post is still gonna be one of my Back To School DIY series (I will post 3 school/stationary related posts) even thought I have a slight feeling that I might be a bit late.

So yeah, every year when the shops get full of stationery, I get excited because I LOVE starting my school year with new pens, pecils, notebooks – everything new! That means a new, good start (but not really thought haha I’m still stuck in that crap. A new pen won’t make my Maths’ skills better, right? Oh well… I just like to pretend that it will haha).

Sometimes my eyes don’t catch anything unique/cute at the stores so I have to turn on my apparatus of creativity an come up with things myself. This time I had an idea to make a denim notebook/agenda. Actually, I made a similar one last year and I really enjoyed it. I got so many compliments about it so, I guess, people liked it too. If you’d like to make your own, keep reading 🙂

What you’ll need:

  • a notebook (preferably with a hard cover)
  • a hot glue gun (or any kind of glue that would be suitable for gluing fabric)
  • a pair of old jeans/a piece of denim
  • a piece of thicker paper. The color is up to you (if you’re DIYing a larger notebook you might need more than one)
  • a pair of scissors
  • some elastic (optional)
  • some sticky notes (optional)

IMG_5390 (1500x1000)

Lets begin!

This project is supper easy: your goal is to glue a piece of denim on you notebook nicely and that’s it haha. Okay, bye.

Just kidding.

For real now.

  • First, measure and cut your jeans so that you get a piece of fabric which’s a bit bigger than the notebook (leave about 2cm from every edge).
  • Then align it so that the seam sits as close to the left edge and glue as smoothly as possible (feel free to use a ruler to help you). Leave the side unglued!
  • Fold the extra fabric inwards and glue on the inner side of the cover (make little cuts which will allow you to fold the fabric nicely, without wrinkles).

IMG_5401 (1500x849)

  • Tuck that little extra piece in a hole for a cleaner edge or if you forgot not to glue the edge you can just snip it off and cover the edge with clear nail polish.

IMG_5404 (1500x1000)

  • Cut two pieces of paper the size as your cover or a little smaller and glue on the inner side of the top and bottom covers to hide the folds. Tadaaa, you’re done.

IMG_5405 (1500x1000)

  • If you’re feeling fancy, you can add a punctuation mark – a ribbon or an elastic for keeping your agenda closed by gluing them under the paper at the back.

IMG_5406 (1500x1000)

  • If you’re SUPER fancy, and love being organized, glue some sticky notes to make you stay on track. 🙂 P.S.  If you ever recreate it, be sure to tweet me the picture.

IMG_5468 (1500x1000)IMG_5407 (1500x1000)IMG_5408 (1500x1000)

Get creative with it!

Be different. Be weird.

Akvilė ^^

Show some love: if you have any tips, questions, comments, feel free to tweet me @AkvileeB, kik me @Akvilee359, or snapchat me @aakvile.

4 thoughts on “DENIM NOTEBOOK || DIY #2

Leave a comment